Commonwealth Split-Site Scholarships 2019 in UK 

Commonwealth Split-Site Scholarships 2019 in UK

Commonwealth Split-Site Scholarships 2019 in UK. Applications are invited from PhD candidates from low and middle income countries for the Commonwealth Split-Site Scholarships 2019. The deadline for submission of applications is 4th February, 2019.

Commonwealth Split-site Scholarships are for PhD candidates from low and middle income Commonwealth countries, to spend up to 12 months at a UK university as part of their doctoral studies in their home country.

Also, Funded by the UK Department for International Development (DFID), Commonwealth Split-site Scholarships enable talented and motivated individuals to gain the knowledge and skills required for sustainable development, and are aimed at those who could not otherwise afford to study in the UK.

Commonwealth Split-Site Scholarships Theme.

These scholarships are offered under six themes:

  1. Science and technology for development

  2. Also, Strengthening health systems and capacity

  3. Promoting global prosperity

  4. Also, Strengthening global peace, security and governance

  5. Strengthening resilience and response to crises

  6. Finally, Access, inclusion and opportunity

Commonwealth Split-Site Scholarships Eligibility.

These scholarships are for:

  • First of all, Applicants who are citizens of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country, or be a British Protected Person

  • Also, 12 months study at a UK university as part of an applicant’s doctoral studies in their home country, starting in October 2019

  • Applicants who are registered (or will be registered by September 2019) for a PhD at a university in an eligible Commonwealth country

  • Also, Study at a UK university with which your home university has an established institutional or departmental link.

  • Finally, Study at a UK university which has a part funding agreement with the CSC

Eligible Commonwealth countries:

  • Antigua and Barbuda

  • Bangladesh

  • Belize

  • Botswana

  • Cameroon

  • Dominica

  • Eswatini

  • Fiji

  • Ghana

  • Grenada

  • Guyana

  • India

  • Jamaica

  • Kenya

  • Kiribati

  • Lesotho

  • Malawi

  • Malaysia

  • Mauritius

  • Montserrat

  • Mozambique

  • Namibia

  • Nauru

  • Nigeria

  • Pakistan

  • Papua New Guinea

  • Rwanda

  • Saint Helena

  • St Lucia

  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

  • Samoa

  • Sierra Leone

  • Solomon Islands

  • South Africa

  • Sri Lanka

  • Tanzania

  • The Gambia

  • Tonga

  • Tuvalu

  • Uganda

  • Vanuatu

  • Zambia


Each scholarship provides:

  • Also, Approved tuition fees

  • Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,084 per month, or £1,330 per month for those at universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2018-2019 levels)

  • Also, Warm clothing allowance, where applicable

  • Study travel grant towards the cost of study-related travel within the UK or overseas

  • Finally, If you are widowed, divorced, or a single parent, child allowance of £465 per month for the first child, and £114 per month for the second and third child under the age of 16,

  • Also, if you are accompanied by your children and they are living with you at the same address in the UK

The CSC’s family allowances are intended to be only a contribution towards the cost of maintaining your family in the UK. The true costs are likely to be considerably higher,

Also, you must be able to supplement these allowances in order to support any family members who come to the UK with you.

Commonwealth Split-Site Scholarships Selection Criteria.

Eligible applications will be considered firstly by an academic adviser with expertise in the subject area concerned, and then by the CSC selection committee in competition with other candidates.

Applications will be considered according to the following selection criteria:

  • Academic merit of the candidate

  • Quality of the research proposal

  • Potential impact of the work on the development of the candidate’s home country

How to Apply for Commonwealth Split-Site Scholarships.

  • First of all, You must make your application directly to the CSC using the CSC’s online application system.

Supporting documentation deadline: Your application must include the following supporting documentation by 16:00 (GMT) on 18 February 2019

  • First of all Copy of your valid passport (or national ID card) showing your photograph, date of birth, and country of citizenship – uploaded to the online application system

  • Also, Full transcripts detailing all your higher education qualifications (with certified translations if not in English) – uploaded to the online application system

  • Finally, Reference from at least one other individual – submitted directly by the referee to the online application system (referees will be sent an email request)

Furthermore, The CSC will not accept supporting documentation submitted outside the online application system.


First of all see (UNIZIK) Part-Time Degree Entrance Exam Schedule for 2018/2019

(ABEM) Scholarships 2019/2020 for African Postgraduate Students & Staff

Also see Federal Government SDG/Nigeria Scholarship Award 2019/2020

Also, Federal Government Bilateral Education Agreement (BEA) Scholarship 2019/2020 Nigerians 

Finally, (KWCOE) (Affiliated to EKSU) Degree Admission List 2018/2019 

Leave a Reply